top of page
  • melissalaitner

Ward 6 Dems Biennial Convention & Election Recap

On Saturday, June 3, Ward 6 Democrats gathered at the Northeast Library to hold our biennial convention and election. President Elizabeth Engel opened the convention with some brief remarks thanking everyone who turned out, particularly highlighting Parliamentarian Aisha Smith, who led the work to put on the event, and the volunteers from the DC Democrats, who ensured the logistics ran smoothly that morning. She also highlighted some of the organization's recent accomplishments. DC Council Chair Phil Mendelson spoke next, with remarks focused on the Republican attacks on DC and our self-governance and on the importance of continued advocacy and activism for DC Statehood. Ward 6 Councilmember Charles Allen also emphasized the importance of DC Statehood in his remarks, while also commending the Ward 6 Dems for our high level of civic and political engagement. Then DC Democrats Chair Charles Wilson previewed the 2024 elections, sharing some information about how we'll select our DC delegates to the DNC and getting attendees fired up to re-elect President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris and to work to elect Dems up and down the ballot. After a brief pause to allow floor nominations (there were none), the We Can Do It! slate, running unopposed, was elected by acclamation. After our Democratic dignitaries swore in the new elected officers, President Elizabeth Engel made a motion to approve the appointed officers, which also passed by acclamation. President Engel then recognized the Ward 6 Dems 2023-2025 committee chairs and made a few closing remarks. Your 2023-2025 officers include:

  • Elizabeth Weaver Engel, President

  • Dorinda White, 1st Vice President

  • Maggie Edwards, 2nd Vice President and Chair of the Young Dems of Ward 6 committee

  • Regine Charles-Bowser, Secretary

  • Marci Hilt, Treasurer

  • Aisha Smith, Parliamentarian

  • Katarina O'Regan, Outreach Director

  • Erin Sheehan, Chair of the Events committee

  • Lindsay Swisher, Chair of the GOTV & Voter Education committee

  • Yael Foa, #DemsCare community service coordinator

More information, including how to contact everyone, is available on our website.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page